Connect with us


Animal Collective announce new audiovisual album ‘Tangerine Reef’



Word got out last week that there was set to be a new Animal Collective album on the way, although it hadn’t been officially announced. Well today it has. Animal Collective have just shared that their eleventh studio album titled Tangerine Reef is due out August 17 via Domino Records. As is the case with every Animal Collective album, Tangerine Reef looks to be another step away from what you’ve come to expect of them.

Tangerine Reef follows up 2016’s Painting With, which saw the band honing in on weird art pop. The new one, though, looks to slow things down into a more experimental, less catchy territory. It is also notable for being a full-on audiovisual album, featuring the music in two different formats. One of course is your standard album format, but the other is a full film version with visuals paired precisely with the music.

The band shared this statement about the record:

“Tangerine Reef is a full-length audiovisual album by Animal Collective (Avey Tare, Deakin and Geologist), in collaboration with Coral Morphologic, to commemorate the 2018 International Year of the Reef. Tangerine Reef is a visual tone poem consisting of time-lapse and slow pans across surreal aquascapes of naturally fluorescent coral and cameos by alien-like reef creatures (note: no CGI or artificial enhancement was used in this film). Tangerine Reef is the sight and sound of a literal underwater collective of animals.”

Ahead of the album’s release, the band have shared a video teaser, which you can check out below. They’ve also dropped the first track “Hair Cutter” along with its visual accompaniment on Apple Music. Head right here to give it a watch. Also be sure to give a look at the album art and full tracklist for Tangerine Reef down below.

01 Hair Cutter
02 Buffalo Tomato
03 Inspector Gadget
04 Buxom
05 Coral Understanding
06 Airpipe (To A New Transition)
07 Jake And Me
08 Coral By Numbers
09 Hip Sponge
10 Coral Realization
11 Lundsten Coral
12 Palythoa
13 Best Of Times (Worst Of All)

Pre-order Tangerine Reef right here. The full film version will also be available for purchase on the band’s website the same day the album drops.


Follow Animal Collective on their socials:

Facebook   Twitter   Instagram   YouTube

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *