Say Anything announce “last” album ‘Oliver Appropriate,’ share “Daze”

Yesterday was quite abuzz with Say Anything news. The emo/alt rock band led by Max Bemis last released an album just back in 2016 with I Don’t Think It Is. And now they’re back with a new album titled Oliver Appropriate. But that’s not where the news ends. For, the reasoning behind the album announcement comes courtesy of a lengthy letter (titled “A Goodbye Summation”) from Max Bemis.

The letter tackles all sorts of things Max Bemis has been dealing with for a long, long time. In it, he opens up about his sexuality, discusses his substance abuse problems, and closes the chapter on Say Anything. For the moment. He doesn’t promise it’s the true end of the band, for now, for his health he feels it’s the right time to call it quits for a while. The reasoning comes because of his current recovery from a PTSD breakdown. Amidst all the heavy personal details, Bemis also goes into detail about the new Say Anything album, Oliver Appropriate. The album follows up on the character he created with the band’s breakout album …Is A Real Boy. More than that, it’s being described as that album’s direct sequel.

To fully understand and grasp all of what Max Bemis is dealing with now and how that ties into this “last” Say Anything record, you need to give his note a read right here. Additionally, you can read a statement from his wife Sherri DuPree-Bemis here.

To sidestep the traditional cycle of marketing leading up the album release, no further details about the album have been shared officially. But, fans have quickly found more information about the release. As of this writing, the album is currently only available to pre-order from iTunes which shows a release date of October 12. Additionally, the album’s first single “Daze” is now available to listen to courtesy of Dine Alone Records. Give it a listen right below here. Check out the album art and tracklist for Oliver Appropriate below that.

01 The Band Fuel
02 Daze
03 Pink Snot
04 Greased
05 Ew Jersey
06 Mouthbreather
07 When I’m Acid
08 Captive Audience
09 Your Father
10 Send You Off
11 Fired
12 It’s A Process
13 The Hardest
14 Sediment

Pre-order Oliver Appropriate on iTunes here. Further pre-order options are forthcoming.


Follow Say Anything on their socials:

Facebook   Twitter   Instagram


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *