Connect with us


Death Cab For Cutie announce new album ‘Thank You For Today,’ drop new single “Gold Rush”



Death Cab For Cutie started teasing new music about a month ago with the release of a short teaser video. The video proclaimed that new Death Cab would be coming August 2018. Now they’ve finally followed up on that tease with a full announcement. The new album will be titled Thank You For Today and comes out August 17. The new record comes just a few years after 2015’s Kintsugi, which marked the last album founding member Chris Walla would work on before departing the band for good.

Alongside the album announcement, the band have shared the first single titled “Gold Rush.” Incidentally, this is not the snippet of new music that was featured in the original album teaser video. Instead, it’s a more peppy, catchy reminder that Death Cab’s blend of pop with melancholy remains firmly intact. The song contains layers of instruments and vocals, creating a neat swirl of sounds. That layering also fits in neatly with the official video as Ben Gibbard is seen being slowly overtaken by a changing, busy crowd of pedestrians. Give the new video a watch right below here. Just beyond that you can check out the album art and full tracklist for Thank You For Today.

01 I Dreamt We Spoke Again
02 Summer Years
03 Gold Rush
04 Your Hurricane
05 When We Drive
06 Autumn Love
07 Northern Lights
08 You Moved Away
09 Near/Far
10 60 & Punk

Pre-order Thank You For Today right here.


Follow Death Cab For Cutie on their socials:

Facebook   Twitter   Instagram   YouTube

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


keep up with your local scene and sign up for our weekly updates.