Connect with us


Khruangbin announce dub album ‘Hasta El Cielo,’ share new song



Last year Khruangbin released one of the low-key best, most overlooked albums of the year with Con Todo El Mundo. The LP consists of 10 tight tracks, mostly instrumental, and wide-ranging in sound and influences. It’s like a blending of slow jam funk, jazz, and other samplings of foreign music. Yet despite all that that’s going on, it remains easily accessible and uniformly chill. And now, the band are set to follow it up with an even more chill version. For today, Khruangbin shared the news that they’ve made a dub version of the entire album.

Titled Hasta El Cielo, the new album will feature reworkings of all the tracks from Con Todo El Mundo. It’ll also contain two bonus tracks of dub remixes from Jamaican producer Scientist. So, if you’re at all into dub, or Khruangbin, of even just great summertime music, you’ll wanna hear this album. And you won’t have to wait long at all, for Hasta El Cielo will be out July 12 via Dead Oceans/Night Time Stories. To give a bit of an explanation on why they chose to do this, the band shared this statement:

“For us, Dub has always felt like a prayer. Spacious, meditative, able to transport the listener to another realm. The first dub albums we listened to were records mixed by Scientist featuring the music of the Roots Radics. Laura Lee learned to play bass by listening to Scientist Wins the World Cup. His unique mixing style, with the emphasis on space and texture, creates the feeling of frozen time; it was hugely influential to us as a band. To be able to work alongside Scientist, a legend in the history of dub, is an honor. This is our dub version of Con Todo El Mundo.”

To get a taste of this style, and just how different these versions will sound, the band have dropped a track from the LP with “Mary Always” (which is a reworking of “Maria También”). Check it out, along with the album art and tracklist for Hasta El Cielo down below.

01 With All The World

02 Sisters and Brothers

03 Mary Always

04 Four of Five

05 How I Love

06 Sunny’s Vision

07 A La Sala

08 The Red Book

09 Order Of Operation

10 Hasta El Cielo

11 Rules (Scientist Dub)

12 Cómo Te Quiero (Scientist Dub)


Pre-order Hasta El Cielo right here.


Follow Khruangbin on their socials:

Facebook    Twitter    Instagram    YouTube


Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.