Connect with us


Wilco announce new album ‘Ode To Joy,’ share new single



When Wilco announced a fairly lengthy tour just a few weeks back, it didn’t seem out of character at all. The band have been an almost constantly touring group even without the hint of new music coming. With the Jeff Tweedy solo stuff picking up, it honestly seemed like Wilco were keen to just sorta glide along as a touring band. But as it turns out, that was indeed the start of something greater. For today, the band have officially announced a brand new album.

Wilco’s newest album is titled Ode To Joy is set for release October 4. The new LP is the band’s first since 2016’s under-appreciated Schmilco. It’s also their eleventh overall studio album. Although it doesn’t seem like Wilco have done anything recently, the past several years have seen an uptick in Jeff Tweedy working on his own. Last year, he released a great new solo LP WARM, which was followed up this year with WARMER. He also wrote and released a memoir, and has continued to tour both with Wilco and on his own. And yet, setting all that aside, it’s still really nice to have the full band back together again.

Speaking about the album, Jeff Tweedy writes:

“The record is, in a weird way, an ode; this terrible stuff is happening, this deepening sense of creeping authoritarianism that weighs on everybody’s psyche on a daily basis, and you’re allowed to feel a lot of things at once. And one thing that is worth feeling, that is worth fighting for, is your freedom to still have joy even though things are going to sh*t.”

To get a sense of what he’s referring to, look no further than the album’s lead single “Love Is Everywhere (Beware).” The song itself traffics in much the same vein as Wilco’s last album, which is a very good thing. Give the song a listen right down below. Just beyond that, you’ll find the album art and full tracklist for Ode To Joy.

01 Bright Leaves
02 Before Us
03 One And A Half Stars
04 Quiet Amplifier
05 Everyone Hides
06 White Wooden Cross
07 Citizens
08 We Were Lucky
09 Love Is Everywhere (Beware)
10 Hold Me Anyway
11 An Empty Corner


Check out Wilco’s full list of upcoming tour dates here.

Pre-order Ode To Joy right here.


Follow Wilco on their socials:

Facebook    Twitter    Instagram    YouTube

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.